Nueva Vizcaya


The Province of Nueva Vizcaya, was named after people on the coast of Mar de Vizcaine in Spain, which were part of the vast “Territorio de Missionares” of the Spanish controlled Government of Cagayan.  The territory covered the eastern half of Northern Luzon, from Nueva Ecija to Aparri, including the Batanes Islands. On May 24, 1839, Governor-General Luis Lardizabal, upon the advice of the Alcalde Mayor of Cagayan, issued an order making Nueva Vizcaya a separate politico-military province.  The King of Spain issued a Royal Decree approving the order, on April 10, 1841.  Governor Pedro Menchaca was the first appointed governor of the new province.  However, the Spanish sovereignty ceased upon the arrival of the Philippine revolutionary forces in Bayombong on August 1898. Thereafter, a civil government was installed in 1902. 

The present territory of Nueva Vizcaya emanated from the creation of the Province of Isabela in May 1865, whereby a large portion of Nueva Vizcaya’s northern territory was ceded to the new Province of Isabela.  More land area was ceded to the Ifugao Province in 1908. Thereafrter, The Province of Quirino was created and more land was ceded to Quirino also. The early Indigenous settlers, were the Ilongots, Igorots, Ifugaos, Isinais and the Gaddangs tribes. Today, Nueva Vizcaya is transforming into a developing province with fifteen municipalities called Alfonso Castañeda, Ambaguio, Aritao, Bagabag, Bambang, Bayombong, Diadi, Dupax del Sur, Dupax del Norte, Kayapa, Kasibu, Quezon, Solano, Sta. Fe and Villaverde. 


Nueva Vizcaya is within the influence of the typhoon belt in Northern Luzon, but not in their direct path. The annual rainfall is about 1,400 mm in low altitude and 2,400 mm in high altitude. Temperature ranges from 12C to 25C. December and January are the coldest months and April to March are the hottest. The province is relatively wet from May to October and becomes dry during November to march.