The Province of Aurora was founded by President Ferdinand E. Marcos in August 1979, with Baler as its capital, by virtue of Batas Pambansa Blg. 7 which fulfilled the prayers of the people of the former Municipalities of Baler and Casiguran, to be truly independent from the Province of Quezon for the first time since the Spanish occupation in around  1572.

The Birth of the Province of Aurora

After World War II Mayor Pedro V. Guerrero with Doña Aurora Aragon Quezon, who sought the creation of a Sub-Province of Aurora paved the way for the creation of an independent province when the required number of municipalities was attained. Guerrero was appointed Lieutenant Governor in recognition of his accomplishment. In 1951 the municipalities of Baler, Casiguran, Dilasag, Dipaculao, Dinalongan, Dingalan, Maria Aurora and San Luis were officially formed into the Sub-Province of Aurora by virtue of Republic Act 646. The dream of converting the Sub-Province into a regular province was pursued by Atty. Luis S. Etcubañez, who has the distinction of being the last Lieutenant Governor of the Sub-Province of Aurora. Atty. Etcubañez was appointed as the first Governor of Aurora when it became the 73rd province of the country in 1979 and he issued an Executive Order declaring February 19 of each year, Aurora Foundation Day in honour of the late Doña Aurora Quezon.

Doña Aurora Aragon Quezon

  Donna Aurora

Aurora offers  a quiet, uncomplicated rural charm that blends with its history  and natural beauty. As a province separated from the rest of Luzon by the Sierra Madre Mountain range,  Aurora’s strategy for development is to capitalise on its largely untapped natural resources through the introduction of value-added industries. More than 70% of the land area is forested, while the remaining land is dedicated to agriculture. The main products are GM corn for animal feed, copra, banana, root crops, coffee, black pepper and citrus. The forests are a source of sabutan, nipa, buri, pandan, bamboo, ratan, cogon and vines. Aurora’s population is around 142,00.

CPRSX and Bugkalot enter into first MoU with Bayanihan Tribal Council of Maria, Aurora

The mountain areas of Maria Aurora are covered with healthy vegetation because rainfall is more or less evenly distributed through the year. The forestland uses include residual forest, sub-marginal forest, mossy forest and brush lands. Although the municipality has favourable climatic conditions, Maria Aurora’ forest continue to dwindle through logging operation and the continued practice of Kaingin, which is the slash-and-burn agricultural technique. This process removes forestry and wildlife in favour of food production on the land.. It involves cutting and burning of forestry to create agricultural growing areas. Slash and Burn techniques for food production is a process used over thousands of years by Indigenous People world wide, as a food production and land / forestry management strategy. Crops are rotated to alternate cleared lands areas while the former areas are allowed to rejuvenate and time to re-fertilize the soil, through the slash and burning of forestry and plants. This process also produces  charcoal in a similar manner to Pyrolysis and Bio-char production.     

The Bayanihan Tribal Council and CPRSX entered into the first MoU in 2013, to be ratified by the Bugkalot Confederation of Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino and Aurora Provinces Inc. following CPRSX delivering a variety of learning and information sessions (subject to the Principles of Free and Prior Informed Consent) to enable the implementation of the CPRSX Climate Change Action Plan ™ on the Bugkalot Confederation’s  Ancestral Domain.

Click the image to move from one photo to the next one or use Left and Right arrow keys on keyboard